Maryland Traffic Fines

Maryland Traffic Fines

Share
Maryland Traffic Fines
 
A Brief Introduction to Maryland Traffic Fines
 
 
A Sampling of Maryland Traffic Fines
 
 
Many different costs are association with Maryland traffic fines, some direct payment and some more indirect. However, the most obvious ones are the Maryland traffic fines themselves, which vary quite a bit from violation to violation. Here is just a sampling of some of the associated fines: 
 
 
Speeding 1 -9 mph over limit: $80.00 1
 
 
Speeding 10 - 19 mph over limit: $90.00 2 
 
 
Speeding 20 - 29 mph over limit: $160.00 2
 
 
Exceeding speed limit of 65 mph by 10 to 19 mph: $160.00 2
 
 
Exceeding speed limit of 65 mph by 20 to 29 mph: $290.00 5
 
 
Speeding 30 to 29 mph over limit: $290.00 5
 
 
Speeding 40 mph and over: $530.00 5
 
 
Driving below minimum posted speed limit: $80.00 1
 
 
Reckless driving in wanton disregard for the safety of nearby persons and property: $510.00 6
 
 
Parking within 15 feet of a fire hydrant: $60.00
 
 
Parking in a handicapped space: $140.00
 
 
Driving while using a handheld telephone: $40.00
 
 
Failure to stop at stop sign: $90.00 1
 
 
Improper turning: $90.00 1
 
 
Failure to stop of pedestrian crosswalk: $80.00 1
 
 
Failure to yield right-of-way properly at an intersection: $110.00 01
 
 
Failure to obey properly operating traffic light: $90 1
 
 
In addition, very serious driving violations, such as driving under the influence of alcohol or illegal drugs or fleeing the scene of an accident will be punished with a Maryland traffic fine of $500 or more, but this will only be determined by the judge handling the court case.
 
 
Maryland Point System
 
 
Most of the additional costs that come with Maryland traffic violations besides Maryland traffic fines come with the disciplinary point system. This system assigns points on the licenses of drivers who commit moving violations. The main point of the system is that drivers with 12 points or more on their license will get a temporary suspension.
 
 
The reason that the point system increases fines is that it alerts insurance companies that some of their drivers may be more at risk for a motor vehicle accident than others. Therefore, drivers with points on their licenses will pay higher in insurance premiums than those who don’t.
 
Here are a few of the assigned points for given traffic violations:
 
 
Failure to remain at scene of accident: 12 points
 
 
Driving Under the Influence of alcohol: 12 points
 
 
Reckless driving in wanton disregard for the safety of nearby persons and property: 6 points
 
 
Exceeding speed limit of 65 mph by 20 to 29 mph:  5 points
 
 
Speeding 30 to 29 mph over limit:  5 points
 
 
Speeding 40 mph and over:  5 points
 
 
Speeding 10 - 19 mph over limit: 2 points
 
 
Speeding 20 - 29 mph over limit: 2 points
 
 
Exceeding speed limit of 65 mph by 10 to 19 mph: 2 points
 
 
Speeding 1 -9 mph over limit: 1 point
 
 
Driving below minimum posted speed limit: 1 point
 
 
Failure to stop at stop sign: 1 point
 
 
Improper turning: 1 point
 
 
Failure to stop of pedestrian crosswalk: 1 point
 
 
Failure to yield right-of-way properly at an intersection:  1 point
 
 
Failure to obey properly operating traffic light: 1 point
 

Comments

comments

Share

Related Articles


Read previous post:
Minnesota Traffic Fines

Close