Home DUI

DUI

New Hampshire Traffic Fines

New Hampshire Traffic Fines

A Short Introduction to New Hampshire Traffic Fines
Everyday in New Hampshire, thousands of traffic violations go unobserved and unpunished by the authorities. A small percentage of these end up contributing to accidents, and a similarly small percentage of traffic violations get observed by traffic police and result in New Hampshire traffic fines. Judged relative to an accident, New Hampshire traffic fines should seem like a blessing, but for most of us, they’re judged relative to the great majority of traffic violations that go unpunished. By such standards, obviously New Hampshire traffic fines are a great disappointment and annoyance, but the good news is that the better you understand the traffic court system, the less you have to worry about your New Hampshire traffic fine.
A Sampling of New Hampshire Traffic Fines
There is, of course, a great diversity in the amount of money that a driver could end-up spending in New Hampshire traffic fines. For some crimes, it may be deemed fair or even lenient, while some people will undoubtably consider their New Hampshire traffic fine too much regardless of the actual cost. Before you rush to judgment about your own situation, prepare yourself for it by reading this sampling of typical New Hampshire traffic fines:
• Speeding 1 to 10 miles per hour over the speed limit—$50
• Speeding 11 to 15 miles per hour over the speed limit—$75
• Speeding 16 to 20 miles per hour over the speed limit—$100
• Speeding 21 to 25 miles per hour over the speed limit—$200
• Speeding 26 or more miles per hour over the speed limit—The individual must appear in court by will pay a minimum of $350 in New Hampshire traffic fines
• Reckless Driving—$500 first offense; $750-$1000 second offense
• Drag Racing—$500 first offense; $750-$1000 second offense
• Driving Under the Influence of Drugs or Alcohol—$500
• Aggravated Driving While Intoxicate—$750-$1000
Disciplinary Point System
But the problems for violators of traffic laws don’t stop with New Hampshire traffic fines. That’s because the state also has a disciplinary point system, where points are added to an individual’s license for each traffic violation that they commit. Enough of these disciplinary points, and your license is revoked. For an adult of 21 years of age or older, your license is suspended when you accumulate 12 points or more in a 12 month period. If you receive 18 points in 24 month period, your license will also be suspended for up to 6 months. If you earn 24 points in a 3 year period, only 8 per year, your license can be suspended for an entire year.
In addition, you should be aware that disciplinary points act as stealth New Hampshire traffic fines, since they add to your insurance premiums. Therefore, you should be very aware of the points that your license has accumulated. Here is a sampling of typical point assignments per violation:
• Speeding 1 to 14 miles per hour over the speed limit—3 points
• Speeding 25 miles per hour or more over the speed limit—4 points
• Improper passing—4 points
• Reckless driving—6 points
• Driving While Intoxicated—6 points

New York Traffic Fines

New York Traffic Fines

A Short Introduction to New York Traffic Fines
New York City is America’s #1 tourist destination, and getting to it may mean hours of New York state driving. Perhaps because of this, millions of New York traffic fines are given out every year to residents and non-residents alike. These fines can seem almost crushingly severe, costing hundreds and hundreds of dollars, but before you engage in panic, you should read up on the consequences associated with a New York traffic fine so as to adequately assess your own situation.
A Sampling of New York Traffic Fines
A New York traffic fine can you a whole paycheck, or it could cost less than a fast food dinner. This wide variance is partly because New York traffic fine is influenced by how many traffic violations you’ve committed in the past. The more violations, the greater your New York traffic fine will be.
In general, the court will add $150 additional dollars if it is your second New York traffic fine in 18 months, and will add $375 if it is your third. The numbers below, therefore, are just the bottom range for fines which could actually be much greater. Only your court can tell you how much your New York traffic fine will be.
• Speeding, 1 to 10 mph over the limit—$45-$150
• In a school zone or construction zone—$90-$300
• Speeding, 11 to 30 mph over the limit—$90-$300
• In a school zone or construction zone—$180-$600
• Speeding, more than 30 mph over the limit—$180-$600
• In a school zone or construction zone—$360-$1200
• Speeding, greater than is reasonable for hazardous conditions—$45-$150
• Failure to make a right turn correctly from a bus lane —$150
• Parking in a no parking zone—$65
The Disciplinary Point System
New York traffic fines are even more serious than they may initially seem because there are significant hidden fines associated with them. These are the disciplinary points assigned with each New York traffic fine. Insurance companies use them to base their premium charges on, so that individuals with more points on their license will get charged more.
Additionally, there are New York state legal consequences for accumulating too many points. If you get 11 or more within an 18 month period, your license may be suspended.
Here is a list of points assigned with typical New York traffic fines:
• Failure to yield: 3 points
• Violation involving a traffic signal, stop sign, or yield sign: 3 points
• Improper passing, unsafe lane change, driving left of center, or driving in wrong direction: 3 points
• Fleeing the scene of an accident with no personal injury: 3 points
• Speeding, 1 to 10 mph over the limit: 3 points
• Speeding, 11 to 20 mph over the limit 4 points
• Driving too closely: 4 points
• Reckless driving: 5 points
• Speeding, 21 to 30 mph over the limit: 6 points
• Speeding, 31 to 40 mph over the limit: 8 points
• Speeding, more than 40 mph over the limit: 11 points

South Carolina Traffic Fines

South Carolina Traffic Fines

 
A Brief Introduction to South Carolina Traffic Fines
 
 
South Carolina traffic fines are not especially severe judged relative to other states, but to the individuals who have tickets to pay, the amount is certainly far more than they’d like. Such individuals may be served by remembering that there are options to avoid paying a South Carolina traffic fine, specifically fighting the charge in court, but such a fight can be costly, and it won’t necessarily benefit you to engage in one. Therefore, you would best serve your own interests by reading more about South Carolina traffic fines and the disciplinary point system.
 
 
A Sampling of South Carolina Traffic Fines
 
 
South Carolina traffic fines can get very expensive and difficult to deal with, but before giving in to panicking, individuals should call their county clerk to find out what they typical South Carolina traffic fine is for their particular situation. It is your local court that ultimately prescribes how great each South Carolina traffic fine is, so only that court can give you a good idea of what yours will be.  The numbers below are the state-mandated ranges for different South Carolina traffic fines and may be of some assistance as well: 
 
 
Speeding, driving 1 to 10 miles per hour above the speed limit: $15 to $25
 
 
Speeding, driving 11 to 15 miles per hour above the speed limit: $25 to $50
 
 
Speeding, driving 16 to 25 miles per hour above the speed limit: $50 to $75
 
 
Speeding, driving more that 25 miles per hour above the speed limit: $75 to $200
 
 
Speeding in a work zone or a construction zone: $75 to $200
 
 
Drag racing on a highway: $200 to $600
 
 
Reckless driving: $25 to $200
 
 
The Disciplinary Point System
 
 
Ultimately, individuals pay much more for their South Carolina traffic fine than the number value on the fine itself. That is because fines come with a point value that affects your car insurance premium. The points signal to your insurance company that you are a riskier individual to insure, so they up your premium to cover their risk. The more points you have, the more your insurance costs.
 
 
Further problems come for offenders with many points on their license because the state of South Carolina will begin to restrict their driving. For instance, individuals with 12 to 15 points on their license are subject to a 3 month suspension. Individuals with 16 or 1 get a 4 month suspension, 18 or 19 points get a 5 month suspension, and 20 points or more get a six month suspension. 
 
 
Here are some point values typically assigned alongside South Carolina traffic fines:
 
 
Speeding, driving 1 to 10 miles per hour above the speed limit: 2 points
 
 
Speeding, driving 11 to 25 miles per hour above the speed limit:4 points
 
 
Speeding, driving more that 25 miles per hour above the speed limit: 6 points
 
 
Reckless driving: 6 points
 
 

Washington DUI Laws

Washington DUI Laws

What are Washington DUI Laws?
Driving under the Influence refers to operating a motor vehicle while under the influence of drugs, alcohol or both. Driving under the influence applies to both legal and illegal drugs, including over-the counter drugs and prescription medication. The state of Washington will arrest a driver—over the age of 21– if their blood alcohol content is above .08%. Washington DUI laws change the legal limit to .04% for drivers of commercial vehicles and .02% for drivers under the age of 21.
What Happens If I refuse to take a Breathalyzer or Chemical Test in Washington?
Washington DUI laws are attached to implied consent law. Washington dui laws state that if you refuse to submit a chemical test you are formally subjected to increased fines and an automatic license suspension of one year.
Washington DUI laws require you to take a breath or blood test if you are arrested for a DUI. The state’s implied consent law states that if you are lawfully arrested by a police officer or law enforcement agent who has probable cause to believe that are driving under the influence, then you must consent to taking a chemical test of your breath, blood or both for the sole purpose of determining your blood alcohol content levels. These tests must be taken within three of hours; the officer will typically offer you the breath test before the blood test. If the breath test is not available—or if you fail to complete it—then the officer will ask for a blood test.
When you are arrested, the officer will tell you that if you refuse to take the test, then evidence of your refusal will be used against you in the court of law. This evidence ultimately bolsters the prosecution, and thus, increases your chances of facing serious fines or penalties. Penalties for 1st, 2nd and 3rd offenses all institute a one-year license suspension. The minimum jail time for refusing to take the test—according to Washington DUI laws—is as follows:
• WA DUI Laws: For 1st Offense: minimum jail time of 1 day if BAC is below .15% and 2 days if BAC is over .15%
• WA DUI Laws: 2nd Offense: minimum 30 days in jail if BAC is below .15% and 45 days if BAC is greater than .15%
• WA DUI Laws: 3rd Offense: minimum 90 days in jail if BAC is below .15% and 120 days in jail if BAC is .15% or greater
Washington DUI Laws: Penalties for First Offense 
According to Washington DUI laws, penalties for first-offense DUI in the state include both administrative and criminal action. Washington DUI laws adhere to sliding scale penalties for first offense DUI convictions: penalties fluctuate based on case-specific considerations including blood-alcohol levels and whether a minor passenger was present in the vehicle at the time of arrest. Regardless of your circumstances, you should hire a Washington Law DUI attorney to mitigate the attached penalties. The following list of penalties for 1st offenses will be instituted under Washington DUI laws:
• WA DUI Laws: Jail from 24 hour s to 1 year or Electronic Home Monitoring System for 15 days
• WA DUI Laws: Jail from 2 days to 1 year for a BAC of .15 or above or Electronic Home Monitoring for 30 days
• WA DUI Law: Fine from $865.50 to $5,000
• WA Dui Laws: Fine from $1,120.50 to $5,000 for a BC at .15 or above
• WA DUI Laws: License Suspension for 90 days
• WA DUI Law: 1 Year for a BAC of .15 or above
• WA DUI Laws: Participation in Alcohol and Drug Education courses is possible
Washington DUI Laws: Penalties for Second Offense
Washington DUI laws claim that an individual can be charged with a DUI for the presence of drugs, alcohol or a combination of the two. Each additional Washington DUI conviction results in advanced penalties. According to Washington DUI law, a DUI conviction involving one substance followed by another DUI conviction of a different substance is considered a second offense. Based on Washington DUI laws, a second conviction is a Class 1 misdemeanor. The following lists of penalties for 2nd offense are instituted according to Washington DUI laws:
• Jail: From 30 days to 1 year/Electronic Home Monitoring is mandatory for 60 days
• Jail: From 45 days to 1 year for a blood alcohol level above .15/Electronic Home Monitoring is added for a period of at least 90 days
• Fine: From $1,120.50 to $5,000
• Fine: From $1,545.50 to $5,000 for a BAC at or above .15
• License Suspension: 2 years
• License Suspension: 900 Days for a BAC at or above .15
• Participation in Alcohol and Drug Education courses is possible
Washington DUI Laws: Penalties for Third Offense
The severity of punishments attached to third offenses includes severe administrative and criminal penalties. For adults, a mandatory license suspension of 2 years is imposed according to Washington DUI laws; for minors, a license suspension is enacted until the individual reaches the age of 21. In addition to fines, an alleged individual will face mandatory jail time. The following lists of penalties for 3rd offenses are instituted according to Washington DUI laws:
• Jail according to WA DUI Law: From 90 days to 1 year, including 120 days of electronic home monitoring
• Jail according to WA DUI Law: From 120 days to 1 year for a blood alcohol level of .15 or above) and 150 days of electronic home monitoring
• Fine according to WA DUI Law: From $1,970.50 to $5,000
• Fine according to WA DUI Laws: From $2,820.50 to $5,000 for a blood alcohol level of .15 or above
• License Suspension according to WA DUI Laws: 3 years
• License Suspension according to WA DUI Laws: 4 years for a blood alcohol level of .15 or above
Changes to Washington DUI Laws:
Effective in January of 2011, Washington DUI law changed to require mandatory reporting if a child under the age of 13 is in a car driven by an intoxicated parent, guardian or legal custodian. New Washington DUI law states that if the arresting officer believes the child is in imminent danger, the officer is allowed—according to this new Washington DUI law—to take the child into emergency custody. Moreover, Washington DUI law extended restricted driving privileges with an ignition interlock mechanism to those convicted of drug-related DUI offenses.

South Dakota Traffic Fines

South Dakota Traffic Fines

South Dakota Traffic Laws
The state of South Dakota has very specific and detailed laws surrounding every aspect of driving.  The state is relaxed on speeding violations, but other laws are strict and, in some cases, can carry a heavy fine.  If you want a complete and detailed list of all official SD driving violations and fines, you should visit the official South Dakota State and Bond Record.  Below you will find lists of different violations in SD.
Vehicle Traffic Offenses in South Dakota
1) Failure to comply with weather restriction/highway closure- $154 and $220 total
2) Unlawful use of controlled access facilities- $54 and $120 total
3) Operation of vehicle on private land without permission of the owner- $54 and $120 total
4) Deprive motorcycle of full use of lane- $54 and $120 total
5) Improperly equipped vehicles on highway- $54 and $120 total
6) Failure to comply with directions of officer- $54 and $120 total
7) Truck overweight violation- $104 and $170 total (in some cases)
8) Coasting downhill in neutral or with clutch out $54 and $120 total
9) Careless driving- $54 and $120 total
10) Overdriving road conditions- $54 and $120 total
11) Failure to follow minimum speed on highway- $54 and $120 total
12) Speeding on highway- (1 to 5 over) $19 and $85 total; (6-10) $39 and $105 total; (11-15) $59 and $125 total; (16 to 20) $79 and $145 total; (21-25) $99 and $165 total Fines within construction zones in South Dakota increase dramatically
13) Drag Racing- $204 and $270 total
14) Driving on wrong side of the road- $54 and $120 total
15) Failure to yield- $54 and $120 total
16) Illegal lane change- $54 and $120 total
17) Illegal median crossing- $54 and $120 total
18) Illegal entry to or exit from highway- $54 and $120 total
19) Violation of right of way- $54 and $120 total
20) Illegal turning- $54 and $120 total
21) Failure or improper use of signals-$54 and $120 total
22) Illegal U-Turn- $54 and $120 total
23) Illegal following or passing- $54 and $120 total
24) Passing in an intersection-$54 and $120 total
25) Passing in no passing zone-$54 and $120 total
26) Following too closely- $54 and $120
27) Failure to yield to blind pedestrian or guide dog- $54 and $120 total
28) Failure to comply with flashing signal- $54 and $120 total
29) Traffic sign violation- $54 and $120 total
30) Failure to yield at yield sign- $54 and $120 total
31) Failure to stop for railway crossing signal- $54 and $120 total
32) Unsafe backing-$54 and $120 total
33) Backing on major highway- $54 and $120 total
34) Move over law- $54 and $120 total
35) Failure to stop for school bus- $54 and $120 total
36) Failure to appear in court- $54 and $120 total
37) Failure to report accident to police- $54 and $120 total
38) Failure to immediately report accident- $204 and $270 total
39) Throwing burning object from window- $54 and $120 total
40) Littering- $104 and $170 total (minimum)
If you have questions concerning the number of points associated with each fine, you should reference the South Dakota official DMV website.

Wyoming Traffic Fines

Wyoming Traffic Fines

Wyoming Traffic Law
Wyoming traffic fines can either classify as lenient or heavy depending on the charge.  Some violations carry very heavy WY traffic fines and even the suspension of a license.  A police officer will normally determine the value of the fine based upon numerous circumstances like the location of the violation, the number of violations you’ve had in the past, and whether you put anyone in danger because of your actions.  The Wyoming traffic fines also come with numerous surcharges, so the penalties often appear higher than one might expect.  As in most states, a person can challenge their Wyoming traffic fine by appealing and testifying in front of a judge.  However, there are no guarantees that a judge will reduce your fine.
Serious Offenses
In some cases, you may lose your license within the state of Wyoming even if it’s your first offense.  If you put a person in danger because of your actions, and especially if you do in fact injure a person, you will undoubtedly have your license suspended for any amount of time.  The following offenses usually result in a person losing their license in the state of WY:
• DUI and DWI offenses
• Fleeing the scene of an accident
• Reckless driving
• Homicide or assault by vehicle
• Receiving a felony charge in relation to operating the vehicle
• Refusal of a sobriety test
• Operating a commercial vehicle with BAC of 0.04% or more
Wyoming Traffic Fines
The state of Wyoming has very detailed provisions concerning traffic fines.  Additionally, each WY traffic fine has surcharges placed on the base fine too.  In Wyoming, surcharges include a $20 fee for court costs, $10 for a court automation fee, and a $10 civil legal services fee.  If you want to view a complete list of the fines, research the  State of Wyoming’s Revised Uniform Bail and Forfeiture Schedule.  The list below is not a complete list, but the fines are common, and each fine does not have surcharges attached:
1) Refusal to obey officer- at least $70
2) Obstructing driver’s view- at least $70
3) Driving on sidewalk- at least $70
4) Following too closely- at least $70
5) Passing in no-passing zone- at least $120
6) Driving over median- at least $70
7) Use of handheld device to email or text while driving- $75
8) Speeding- 21 to 25 over equals $57 to $65; 26 to 30 mph over equals at least $150 to $190; 31 to 36 at least $250 to $300; 37 to 46 over at least $310 to $400
9) Driving too slowly- at least $70
10) Parking on highway- at least $70
11) Failure to report over $1,000 property damage of injury- at least $220
12) Operating with suspended license- at least $420
13) Passing flashing school bus- at least $420
14) Hitchhiking- at least $70
15) Not stopping at railroad crossing- at least $70
16) Improper use of flares and other warning devices- at least $70

Virginia Traffic Fines

Virginia Traffic Fines

Virginia Traffic Law
Virginia Traffic fines are large and vary greatly depending on location, the number of past offenses, and the condition in which you were driving.  The state is nationally known for its strict vehicle procedures, and VA traffic fines are known to be high in cost and associated with large point values.  As always, you have the ability to appeal a Virginia traffic fine, and you will be required to stand in front of a judge and testify.
Point System
Virginia traffic fines are closely correlated with the number of points received for a violation.  Some offenses carry heavy VA traffic fines and large amounts of points, while other penalties receive small fines and no points.  In the state of VA, a driver cannot receive more than 12 points in one year or 18 points in two years.  If you receive more points than allowed, your license will be suspended.
Virginia traffic fines can increase to as much as $3000, but the rate depends on the offense and number of points.  The section below explains each penalty and the points issued for each offense.
Penalties
Virginia traffic fines vary greatly—even within the same kind of violation.  The fine depends on the number of points you receive, and below is a list of the points tagged on to each offense:
Six Point Violations
• Driving over 80 mph or 20 mph over the speed limit
• Racing
• Passing an engaged emergency vehicle
• Passing a flashing school bus
• Passing at a railroad crossing
• Driving with an obstructed view
• Driving under the influence of alcohol or drugs or driving while intoxicated
• Refusing a blood/breath test
• Being declared as a habitual offender
• Driving on suspended license
• Failure to stop at the scene of a crash
• Willful stopping
• Attempting to elude police
Four Point Violations
• Speeding 10 to 19 mph over speed limit
• Unsafe passing
• Failure to stop for pedestrian
• Failure to obey Right of Way
• Failure to drive on right side of street
• Following too closely
• Failure to signal when pulling out from curb
• Failure to obey railroad crossing signal
• Passing a vehicle stopped at railroad crossing
• Aggressive driving
• Failure to obey traffic signal
• Improper backing
• Interrupting a funeral procession
Three Point Violations
• Speeding 1 to 9 mph over speed limit
• Driving too slowly
• Improper passing on right
• Coasting with gears in neutral
• Changing course after signaling
• Driving over fire hose
• Driving on sidewalk
• Improper U-Turn
• Violation of right turn on red
• Failure to obey highway sign
• Driving without lights
• Failure to dim headlights
• Failure to have license revalidated
• Failure to change lanes for emergency vehicle
• Driving while using earphones
The above list is not a complete list.  If you would like to view a complete list, you should visit the government website of the Virginia DMV.

Vermont Traffic Fines

Vermont Traffic Fines

 
Vermont Traffic Law
 
 
Vermont traffic fines carry heavy penalties and large amounts of surcharges.  Fine can range depending on the type of violation, the number of violations you’ve had in the past, and the area of where the violation occurred.  Vermont traffic fines carry points as well, and although these points reduce every year, the VT traffic fine stays on your state record forever.  As a citizen, you have the right to appeal any violation and stand before a judge.
 
 
Point System
 
 
As mentioned above, VT traffic fines carry points as well.  The list below reflects the points given to each offense:
 
 
1) Speeding- 2 to 8 points depending on degree of speed
 
 
2) Texting while driving- 2 to 5 points
 
 
3) Driving without a license- 2 points
 
 
4) Failure to stop at stop sign or red light- 2 points
 
 
5) Failure to obey officer- 4 points
 
 
6) Failure to yield for emergency vehicle- 5 points
 
 
7) Failure to yield to pedestrian in crosswalk- 4 points
 
 
8) Failure to stop for flashing school bus- 5 points
 
 
If you acquire 10 points or more, the state will suspend your license.  
 
 
Vermont Traffic Fines
 
 
VT traffic fines vary greatly depending on the extent of the violation and how many violations you’ve had in the past.  You can receive a minimum penalty, a maximum penalty, a penalty in between, and a surcharge attached to every fine.  If you want to reference a detailed and complete list of all Vermont traffic fines, you should visit the state’s official Waiver and Penalty Schedule.  The values listed below are the minimum waiver values for each Vermont traffic fine:
 
 
1) Parking in handicapped space- fine of $271
 
 
2) Failure to obey an officer- fine of $329
 
 
3) Failure to obey persons riding animals- fine of $156
 
 
4) Failure to obey traffic control signals- fine of $214
 
 
5) Failure to obey pedestrian control signal- fine of $214
 
 
6) Failure to drive to the right- fine of $214
 
 
7) Passing on the right- fine of $214
 
 
8) Improperly passing- fine of $156
 
 
9) Passing in no passing zone- fine of $214
 
 
10) Throwing object at other driver- fine of $386
 
 
11) Following too closely- fine of $271
 
 
12) Passing a school bus with flashers on- fine of $243
 
 
13) Texting while driving- fine of $156 for first offense and $329 for second offense
 
 
14) Backing up on highway- fine of $214
 
 
15) Following fire truck within 500 ft- fine of $156
 
 
16) Obstructing windshield- fine of $156
 
 
17) Driving on sidewalk- fine of $214
 
 
18) Consuming alcohol while driving- fine of at least $444
 
 
19) Open container of driver or passenger- fine of $70
 
 
20) Trespassing and causing property damage- fine of $243
 
 
21) Improper headgear for motorcycle- fine of $156
 
 
22) Failure to use seatbelt- fine of $25 for first offense, $50 for second offense, and $100 for third offense
 
 
23) Traveling too slowly- fine of $214
 
 
24) Excessive speed over bridge- fine of $99
 
 

Wisconsin Traffic Fines

Wisconsin Traffic Fines

 
Wisconsin Traffic Law
 
 
Wisconsin traffic fines are slightly higher than most other states throughout the country.  The WI traffic fines aren’t always initially high, but after all of the surcharges the state places on each penalty, the fines amount to considerable amounts.  WI traffic fines can increase depending on 9 different surcharges, and the amounts of the fines and surcharges depends greatly upon where the violation occurred and how many violations you’ve had in the past.  If you are facing a Wisconsin traffic fine, you have the ability to appeal the action and testify in front of a judge.  However, if you choose to appeal, you should prepare for even more surcharges.  
 
 
Surcharges on Wisconsin Traffic Fines
 
 
As stated above, your fines may have different surcharges placed on them.  The following list contains surcharges within WI:
 
 
1) Court Support Services Fee- this fee of $68 covers county court costs
 
 
2) Court Cost- about $25
 
 
3) Crime Lab and Drug Assessment Fee- $13 for state’s crime lab activities
 
 
4) Penalty Assessment- 26% of base Wisconsin traffic fine
 
 
5) Jail Assessment- 1% of base deposit if the fine is large and the surcharge funds county jail repairs
 
 
6) Justice Information System Fee- $21.50 and funds the criminal justice computer system
 
 
7) Railroad Crossing Improvement Assessment- 50% of base fine relating to railroad penalties and helps the railroad install protective equipment
 
 
8) Driver Improvement Surcharge- $365 for all DUI penalties and funds future driver improvement programs
 
 
9) Truck Driver Education Fee- $8 and helps fund education for commercial truck drivers
 
 
Wisconsin Traffic Fines
 
 
If you want a detailed and complete list of all Wisconsin traffic fines and violations, you should visit the State of Wisconsin’s Revised Uniform State Traffic Deposit Schedule.  Below is a list of some common Wisconsin traffic fine and violations, and the amount is based upon a total amount after all surcharges:
 
 
1) Failure to obey officer- up to $175 and up to $213 for 2nd violation in one year
 
 
2) Driving left of center lane- up to $213
 
 
3) Failure for slow car to keep right- up to $213
 
 
4) Failure to yield to passing vehicle- up to $232
 
 
5) Unsafe passing on right- up to $232
 
 
6) Passing into oncoming traffic- up to $326
 
 
7) Passing in no passing zone- up to $213
 
 
8) Following too closely- up to $200
 
 
9) Traveling wrong way on divided highway- up to $326
 
 
10) Illegal entrance on divided highway- up to $263
 
 
11) Failure to yield for pedestrian- up to $175 and $213 for second offense in one year
 
 
12) Improper right turn- up to $175 and $213 for second offense in one year
 
 
13) Illegally backing up on highway- up to $175
 
 
14) Failure to stop at stop sign- up to $175
 
 
15) Failure to stop for school crossing guard- up to $188
 
 
16) Failure to stop 10-30 feet from railroad crossing- up to $208 
 
 
17) Handicap parking violations- up to $264
 
 
18) Stopping/Standing on highway by grade school- up to $154
 

West Virginia Traffic Fines

West Virginia Traffic Fines

 
West Virginia Traffic Law
 
 
West Virginia traffic fines compare closely to nearby states like Virginia.  WV traffic fine are commonly perceived as heavy, and the number of points associated with different kinds of violations can put many drivers in danger of losing their license.  Additionally, West Virginia traffic fines greatly vary in number because the amount is influenced by the number of points you receive, the manner and conditions in which you were driving, and the area you were driving.  As in any other state, you have the right to appeal a WV traffic fine and stand before a judge.  
 
 
Point System
 
 
Most West Virginia traffic fines come with points as well.  If your points accumulate too fast within a given time period, you may have your license suspended.  Accordingly, if you acquire 12 to 13 points in 30 days, 14-15 points in 45 days, 16-17 points in 60 days, 18-19 points in 90 days, or simply 20+ points overall, your license will most likely be suspended.  The following contains different violations with different degrees of points.  This is not a complete list, but it covers most of the offenses listed on the government transportation website of West Virginia:
 
 
Fleeing a police officer- 8 points
 
 
Hit and Run/Leaving the scene- 6 points
 
 
Speeding in a school zone- 6 points
 
 
Reckless driving- 6 points
 
 
Speeding 15 mile per hour or more above speed limit- 5 points
 
 
Lane violations- 3 points
 
 
Speeding 10 to 14 miles per hour over speed limit- 3 points
 
 
Driving wrong way on one-way street- 3 points
 
 
Driving too fast for conditions- 3 points
 
 
Failure to yield in any condition- 3 points
 
 
Failure to obey traffic light or sign- 3 points
 
 
Failure to observe safety zone- 3 points
 
 
Careless driving- 3 points
 
 
Passing violations- 3 points
 
 
Littering- 3 points
 
 
Improper turning/backing- 2 points
 
 
Traveling to slow- 2 points
 
 
Improper entering onto highway- 2 points
 
 
Improper lights- 2 points
 
 
Following too closely- 2 points
 
 
Not using signals- 2 points
 
 
More than three passengers in front seat- 2 points
 
 
Speeding 5 to 9 miles per hour over speed limit
 
 
Failure to possess license- 2 points
 
 
Joyriding- 2 points
 
 
Fines
 
 
West Virginia traffic fines vary greatly depending on the offense, and some limits for WV traffic fines are not specified by government websites.  Below is a list of more West Virginia traffic fines:
 
 
1) Speeding- 1st offense no more than $100, 2nd offense within a year no more than $200, 3rd offense within two years no more than $500
 
 
2) Speeding in school zone- $100 to $500
 
 
3) Speeding in construction zone- no more than $200
 
 
4) Racing on highway- 1st offense no more than $50 to $100, 2nd offense no more than $50 to $500, subsequent offense from $100 to $1,000 1st offense doesn’t carry imprisonment, but the 2nd offense carries imprisonment up to 60 days and more offenses carry imprisonment up to 4 months