Laws Lawyers Find Laws Legal Forms State Laws Bills
Home » Find Laws » Laws » Tennessee Traffic Fines

Tennessee Traffic Fines

Listen
Tennessee Traffic Law Tennessee Traffic Fines detailed laws concerning the operation of vehicles and other rules of the road.Most Tennessee Traffic Fines fall under a Class C misdemeanor, but some violations do stand as Class B and Class C violations. Criminal Penalty The fines vary according to the degree of misdemeanor.In Tennessee, the following penalties are associated with different misdemeanors: Class A TN Traffic Fines Up to 11 and a half months of incarceration and fine of $1,500 Class B in TN Traffic Fines Up to six months of incarceration and fine of $500 Class C in TN Traffic Fines Up to 30 days in jail and fine of $50 Tennessee Point System Tennessee traffic fines come with different degrees of points.If you acquire 12 points in any one-year period, you may lose you license.The following lists of violations are mostly Class C violations and come with distinct point values: 1) Speeding- 1 to 5 over equals 1 point; 6 to 15 over equals 3 points; 16 to 25 over equals 4 points; 26 to 35 over equals 5 points; 36 to 45 over equals 6 points, 46 or over equals 8 points. Point increase if speeding in construction zone. 2) Operating without license- if your license is suspended, you will receive at least 8 points and the crime is a Class B Misdemeanor 3) Operating special vehicle without require license- 8 points regardless if your license is suspended or not 4) Driving While Impaired- up to 8 points 5) Reckless endangerment- at least 8 points 6) Passing school bus taking or letting off passenger- at least 6 points 7) Fleeing Law Enforcement- at least 6 points 8) Leaving Scene of Accident with property damage only- up to 5 points 9) Failure to Obey Traffic Signs or Control Devices- up to 4 points 10) Improper Passing and Passing where Prohibited- up to 4 points 11) Driving the wrong way or on wrong side of the road- up to 4 points 12) Failure of Right of Way- up to 4 points 13) Careless of Negligent Driving- up to 4 points 14) Violation of Bumper Law- up to 4 points 15) Following Improperly- up to 3 points 16) Making Improper Turn- up to 3 points 17) Driving Under Posted Minimum Speed- up to 3 points 18) Failure to Maintain Change of Vehicle Direction- up to 2 points 19) Failure to Maintain Control- up to 3 points 20) Unlawfully Following Emergency Vehicles- at least 2 points 21) Failure to Report Accident- at least 4 points 22) Contributing to an Accident Causing Death- at least 8 points 23) Contributing to an Accident Causing Injury- at least 4 points The Tennessee traffic fines listed above are not a complete list of all traffic violations within the state.If you want a complete and detailed list of all Tennessee traffic fines, you should visit the state’s official judiciary website and official DMV website. Additionally, you always have the right to appeal a traffic fine in the state of Tennessee.There are usually costs associated to court costs, but you may be able to reduce the number of points on your license.
Font Size: AAA
Loading...
  • Play
  • Pause
  • Volume:
  • Mute
  • Half
  • Max
  • Tennessee Traffic Fines

    Tennessee Traffic Law Tennessee Traffic Fines detailed laws concerning the operation of vehicles and other rules of the road. Most Tennessee Traffic Fines fall under a Class C misdemeanor, but some violations do stand as Class B and Class C violations. Criminal Penalty The fines vary according to the degree of misdemeanor. In Tennessee, the following penalties are associated with different misdemeanors: Class A TN Traffic Fines Up to 11 and a half months of incarceration and fine of $1,500 Class B in TN Traffic Fines Up to six months of incarceration and fine of $500 Class C in TN Traffic Fines Up to 30 days in jail and fine of $50 Tennessee Point System Tennessee traffic fines come with different degrees of points. If you acquire 12 points in any one-year period, you may lose you license. The following lists of violations are mostly Class C violations and come with distinct point values: 1) Speeding- 1 to 5 over equals 1 point; 6 to 15 over equals 3 points; 16 to 25 over equals 4 points; 26 to 35 over equals 5 points; 36 to 45 over equals 6 points, 46 or over equals 8 points. Point increase if speeding in construction zone. 2) Operating without license- if your license is suspended, you will receive at least 8 points and the crime is a Class B Misdemeanor 3) Operating special vehicle without require license- 8 points regardless if your license is suspended or not 4) Driving While Impaired- up to 8 points 5) Reckless endangerment- at least 8 points 6) Passing school bus taking or letting off passenger- at least 6 points 7) Fleeing Law Enforcement- at least 6 points 8) Leaving Scene of Accident with property damage only- up to 5 points 9) Failure to Obey Traffic Signs or Control Devices- up to 4 points 10) Improper Passing and Passing where Prohibited- up to 4 points 11) Driving the wrong way or on wrong side of the road- up to 4 points 12) Failure of Right of Way- up to 4 points 13) Careless of Negligent Driving- up to 4 points 14) Violation of Bumper Law- up to 4 points 15) Following Improperly- up to 3 points 16) Making Improper Turn- up to 3 points 17) Driving Under Posted Minimum Speed- up to 3 points 18) Failure to Maintain Change of Vehicle Direction- up to 2 points 19) Failure to Maintain Control- up to 3 points 20) Unlawfully Following Emergency Vehicles- at least 2 points 21) Failure to Report Accident- at least 4 points 22) Contributing to an Accident Causing Death- at least 8 points 23) Contributing to an Accident Causing Injury- at least 4 points The Tennessee traffic fines listed above are not a complete list of all traffic violations within the state. If you want a complete and detailed list of all Tennessee traffic fines, you should visit the state’s official judiciary website and official DMV website. Additionally, you always have the right to appeal a traffic fine in the state of Tennessee. There are usually costs associated to court costs, but you may be able to reduce the number of points on your license.

    Related Articles

    Link To This Page

    Comments

    Guide to Finding a Lawyer
    Tips