Laws Lawyers Find Laws Legal Forms State Laws Bills
Home » Find Laws » DUI Laws » State DUI Laws » Pennsylvania DUI Laws

Pennsylvania DUI Laws

Listen
Pennsylvania DUI Laws are extremely specific while becoming increasingly harsher. A Pennsylvania DUI conviction is broken down into 3 levels of intoxication. The first level of intoxication is having a BAC of 0.08-0.99. The second level of intoxication is having a BAC of .10 -.159. The third level of Intoxication is having a BAC of .16 and above. Pennsylvania law on DUI exhibit different penalties for each level. The first Pennsylvania DUI offense, at the first level, results in 6 months of probation and a suspended license. The second level results in 2 days -6 months in prison. Additional penalties for a second level, first time Pennsylvania DUI, are a fine ranging from $500.00 - $5000.00, and a license suspension for up to 12 months. The third level results in a 3 day - 6 months in prison. Additional penalties include; a fine ranging from $100.00-$5000.00, 12 month license suspension, the chance of an Ignition Interlock Device, and driving school. The second Pennsylvania DUI offense, at the first level results in 5 days - 6 months of jail time. Pennsylvania DUI Laws also require a fine ranging form $300.00 - $2500.00, and a 12 month license suspension. The second level, results in 30 days - 6 months of jail time. Additionally, the driver will have to pay $700.00- $ 5000.00, and lose their license for up to 12 months. The third level results in jail time from 90 days - 5 years. Additionally, Pennsylvania DUI laws require a fine of $1500.00, an Ignition Interlock Device, and driving school. The third Pennsylvania DUI offense, at the first level, results in 10 days - 2 years in prison. A fine of $500.00-$5000.00, and a 12 month license suspension are also required. The second level results in 90 days - 5 years in jail. This jail time is coupled with a fine ranging from $1500.00 - $10,000.00, and a license suspension of up to 18 months. The third level results in 1- 5 years in jail. Pennsylvania DUI Law requires a fine of up to $2500.00, a license suspension for up to 18 months, and a Ignition Interlock Device. According to Pennsylvania DUI Laws, the blood alcohol level of .16 is known as the Enhanced Blood and Alcohol Concentration. This Enhanced BAC creates harsher punishments and penalties like; jail time, higher fines, driving school, alcohol counseling, license suspension, and vehicle repossession by the sate.
Font Size: AAA
Loading...
  • Play
  • Pause
  • Volume:
  • Mute
  • Half
  • Max
  • Pennsylvania Dui Laws

    Pennsylvania DUI Laws are extremely specific while becoming increasingly harsher. A Pennsylvania DUI conviction is broken down into 3 levels of intoxication. The first level of intoxication is having a BAC of 0.08-0.99. The second level of intoxication is having a BAC of .10 -.159. The third level of Intoxication is having a BAC of .16 and above. Pennsylvania law on DUI exhibit different penalties for each level.

    The first Pennsylvania DUI offense, at the first level, results in 6 months of probation and a suspended license. The second level results in 2 days -6 months in prison. Additional penalties for a second level, first time Pennsylvania DUI, are a fine ranging from $500.00 - $5000.00, and a license suspension for up to 12 months. The third level results in a 3 day - 6 months in prison. Additional penalties include; a fine ranging from $100.00-$5000.00, 12 month license suspension, the chance of an Ignition Interlock Device, and driving school.

    The second Pennsylvania DUI offense, at the first level results in 5 days - 6 months of jail time. Pennsylvania DUI Laws also require a fine ranging form $300.00 - $2500.00, and a 12 month license suspension. The second level, results in 30 days - 6 months of jail time. Additionally, the driver will have to pay $700.00- $ 5000.00, and lose their license for up to 12 months. The third level results in jail time from 90 days - 5 years. Additionally, Pennsylvania DUI laws require a fine of $1500.00, an Ignition Interlock Device, and driving school.

    The third Pennsylvania DUI offense, at the first level, results in 10 days - 2 years in prison. A fine of $500.00-$5000.00, and a 12 month license suspension are also required. The second level results in 90 days - 5 years in jail. This jail time is coupled with a fine ranging from $1500.00 - $10,000.00, and a license suspension of up to 18 months. The third level results in 1- 5 years in jail. Pennsylvania DUI Law requires a fine of up to $2500.00, a license suspension for up to 18 months, and a Ignition Interlock Device.

    According to Pennsylvania DUI Laws, the blood alcohol level of .16 is known as the Enhanced Blood and Alcohol Concentration. This Enhanced BAC creates harsher punishments and penalties like; jail time, higher fines, driving school, alcohol counseling, license suspension, and vehicle repossession by the sate.

    NEXT: Rhode Island DUI Laws

    Related Articles

    Link To This Page

    Comments

    POPULAR IN DUI

    Zero Tolerance Laws Statistics
    DUI
    Zero Tolerance Laws Statistics
    All You Need To Know About DUI Checkpoints
    DUI
    All You Need To Know About DUI Checkpoints
    Guide to Finding a Lawyer
    Tips