Laws Lawyers Find Laws Legal Forms State Laws Bills
Home » Find Laws » DUI Laws » State DUI Laws » Oregon DUI Laws

Oregon DUI Laws

Listen
Oregon DUI laws are harsh and serious. The penalties for an Oregon DUI vary based on a drivers age and license type, BAC or blood alcohol concentration, and the number of offenses. Oregon DUI Laws enforce a zero tolerance or 0.02 limit for drivers under the age of 21. Commercial drivers are not allowed a BAC that reaches or topples over 0.04. Drivers over 21 may not have a BAC the reaches or topples over 0.08. Additionally, Oregon DUI prohibits the use of any other impairments such as marijuana, inhalants, cocaine, prescription drugs, etc. Unlike many other state DUI laws, the first offense is not a warning offense, and carries a heavy sentence. The first offense for an Oregon DUI results in a 1 year suspended drivers’ license. A minimum 48 hours in jail is required as well as 80 hours of community service work. The monetary penalties for an Oregon DUI start off with a minimum penalty of $1000.00.Additional fees include a $40.00 assessment fee, a $139.00 alcohol program fee, $95.00 additional assessment fee, a $59.00 county fee, and a $90.00 diagnostic fee. The second offense for an Oregon DUI results in a year suspended drivers license for up to 3 years. A jail sentence ranging from 48 hours to 1 year is required. The monetary penalties for an Oregon DUI start off with a minimum penalty of $1500.00. Additional fees include a $40.00 assessment fee,a $139.00 alcohol program fee, $95.00 additional assessment fee, a $59.00 county fee, and a $90.00 diagnostic fee. The third offense for an Oregon DUI results in a permanently suspended license. A jail sentence ranging from 48 hours to 1 year is required. The monetary penalties for an Oregon DUI start off with a minimum penalty of $2000.00. Additional fees include a $40.00 assessment fee, a $139.00 alcohol program fee, $95.00 additional assessment fee, a $59.00 county fee, and a $90.00 diagnostic fee. Within Oregon law DUI exists the Implied Consent Law, which refers to the submission of ones blood, urine, or breath to an officer in the event of a DUI suspicion. A driver’s refusal to comply with this law will result in an automatic suspension of ones driver's license. A temporary license is given until sentencing in court. The refusal to comply with sobriety testing is used as evidence against the driver in court, and adds credibility to an Oregon DUI claim. Oregon DUI Laws are very specific and leave very little room for negotiations. When convicted of an Oregon DUI, ones driving privileges and freedoms are instantly revoked.
Font Size: AAA
Loading...
  • Play
  • Pause
  • Volume:
  • Mute
  • Half
  • Max
  • Oregon Dui Laws

    Popular In DUI

    DUI Attorney   DUI Attorneys   DUI Lawyer   DUI Lawyers  

    Oregon DUI laws are harsh and serious. The penalties for an Oregon DUI vary based on a drivers age and license type, BAC or blood alcohol concentration, and the number of offenses. Oregon DUI Laws enforce a zero tolerance or 0.02 limit for drivers under the age of 21.

    Commercial drivers are not allowed a BAC that reaches or topples over 0.04. Drivers over 21 may not have a BAC the reaches or topples over 0.08. Additionally, Oregon DUI prohibits the use of any other impairments such as marijuana, inhalants, cocaine, prescription drugs, etc. Unlike many other state DUI laws, the first offense is not a warning offense, and carries a heavy sentence.

    The first offense for an Oregon DUI results in a 1 year suspended drivers’ license. A minimum 48 hours in jail is required as well as 80 hours of community service work. The monetary penalties for an Oregon DUI start off with a minimum penalty of $1000.00. Additional fees include a $40.00 assessment fee, a $139.00 alcohol program fee, $95.00 additional assessment fee, a $59.00 county fee, and a $90.00 diagnostic fee.

    The second offense for an Oregon DUI results in a year suspended drivers license for up to 3 years. A jail sentence ranging from 48 hours to 1 year is required. The monetary penalties for an Oregon DUI start off with a minimum penalty of $1500.00. Additional fees include a $40.00 assessment fee, a $139.00 alcohol program fee, $95.00 additional assessment fee, a $59.00 county fee, and a $90.00 diagnostic fee.

    The third offense for an Oregon DUI results in a permanently suspended license. A jail sentence ranging from 48 hours to 1 year is required. The monetary penalties for an Oregon DUI start off with a minimum penalty of $2000.00. Additional fees include a $40.00 assessment fee, a $139.00 alcohol program fee, $95.00 additional assessment fee, a $59.00 county fee, and a $90.00 diagnostic fee.

    Within Oregon law DUI exists the Implied Consent Law, which refers to the submission of ones blood, urine, or breath to an officer in the event of a DUI suspicion. A driver’s refusal to comply with this law will result in an automatic suspension of ones driver's license.

    A temporary license is given until sentencing in court. The refusal to comply with sobriety testing is used as evidence against the driver in court, and adds credibility to an Oregon DUI claim. Oregon DUI Laws are very specific and leave very little room for negotiations. When convicted of an Oregon DUI, ones driving privileges and freedoms are instantly revoked.

    NEXT: Pennsylvania DUI Laws

    Related Articles

    Link To This Page

    Comments

    POPULAR IN DUI

    Zero Tolerance Laws Statistics
    DUI
    Zero Tolerance Laws Statistics
    How To Beat A DUI
    DUI
    How To Beat A DUI
    Guide to Finding a Lawyer

    MORE IN DUI

    Pennsylvania DUI Laws Pennsylvania DUI Laws
    Tips