Laws Lawyers Find Laws Legal Forms State Laws
Home » Find Laws » DUI Laws » Michigan DUI Laws

Michigan DUI Laws

Listen
Quick Guide to Michigan DUI Laws and Penalties Michigan DUI Law Michigan DUI laws are somewhat relaxed compared to other states, but these penalties and fines are still serious and cause significant problems in your family and job.This article will discuss specific Michigan DUI laws listed in the state statutes, as well as an overview of penalties and fines in the state. Specific Michigan DUI Laws Section 257.625 of the state statutes refers to the majority of Michigan DUI law under the state’s vehicle code.Some of the sections of this Michigan DUI law are provided below: A person, who is licensed or not, cannot operate a vehicle on a public highway or any other public location, including parking lots, if they are intoxicated.Being “intoxicated” is defined below: (a) The person is under the influence of alcoholic liquor, a controlled substance, or a combination of both. (b) The person has an alcohol content of 0.08 grams per 100 milliliters of blood, per 210 liters of breath, or per 67 milliliters of urine, or, beginning on October 1, 2013, a content of 0.10 grams per 100 milliliters of blood, per 210 liters of breath, or 67 milliliters of urine. There are many other Michigan DUI laws you’ll want to refer to, and these laws are located under the following link. Penalties for DUI in Michigan Michigan DUI law provides different penalties for varying amounts of offenses.You have the right to contest the fines and penalties listed below, and if you take such action, you should hire an attorney that specializes in Michigan DUI law. First Offense Jail time- Up to 93 days depending on level of intoxication Community Service- up to 15 days, or 360 hours License suspension- may receive restricted license after 30 days Driver Responsibility Fee- $1,000 for two years License Points- 6 points Fine- From $100 to $500 Second Offense Jail time- 5 days to 1 year depending on level of intoxication Community Service- 30 to 90 days License suspension- minimum suspension of one year Driver Responsibility Fee- $1,000 for two years License Points- 6 points IID- mandatory ignition interlock device Fine- From $200 to $1,000 Third Offense Jail time- 1 to 5 years Probation- 30 days to 1 year Community Service- 60 to 180 days License suspension- minimum of one year Driver Responsibility Fee- $1,000 for two years License Points- 6 points IID- mandatory ignition interlock device Fine- From $200 to $1,000 Vehicle Immobilization- from 90 days to 180 days What happens if I refuse a chemical test? According to Michigan DUI laws, you will receive the maximum sentence in most cases if you refuse a chemical test, but you may not lose your license for as long.Michigan DUI law allows an attorney to reach a plea bargain in some cases, but refusing a chemical test will hurt your chances. According to Ohio DUI laws, you will lose your license for one year for the first offense, and two years for the second and third offense.
Font Size: AAA
Loading...
  • Play
  • Pause
  • Volume:
  • Mute
  • Half
  • Max
  • Michigan Dui Laws

    Popular In DUI

    DUI Attorney   DUI Attorneys   DUI Lawyer   DUI Lawyers  

    Quick Guide to Michigan DUI Laws and Penalties Michigan DUI Law Michigan DUI laws are somewhat relaxed compared to other states, but these penalties and fines are still serious and cause significant problems in your family and job. This article will discuss specific Michigan DUI laws listed in the state statutes, as well as an overview of penalties and fines in the state. Specific Michigan DUI Laws Section 257.625 of the state statutes refers to the majority of Michigan DUI law under the state’s vehicle code. Some of the sections of this Michigan DUI law are provided below: A person, who is licensed or not, cannot operate a vehicle on a public highway or any other public location, including parking lots, if they are intoxicated. Being “intoxicated” is defined below: (a) The person is under the influence of alcoholic liquor, a controlled substance, or a combination of both. (b) The person has an alcohol content of 0.08 grams per 100 milliliters of blood, per 210 liters of breath, or per 67 milliliters of urine, or, beginning on October 1, 2013, a content of 0.10 grams per 100 milliliters of blood, per 210 liters of breath, or 67 milliliters of urine. There are many other Michigan DUI laws you’ll want to refer to, and these laws are located under the following link. Penalties for DUI in Michigan Michigan DUI law provides different penalties for varying amounts of offenses. You have the right to contest the fines and penalties listed below, and if you take such action, you should hire an attorney that specializes in Michigan DUI law. First Offense Jail time- Up to 93 days depending on level of intoxication Community Service- up to 15 days, or 360 hours License suspension- may receive restricted license after 30 days Driver Responsibility Fee- $1,000 for two years License Points- 6 points Fine- From $100 to $500 Second Offense Jail time- 5 days to 1 year depending on level of intoxication Community Service- 30 to 90 days License suspension- minimum suspension of one year Driver Responsibility Fee- $1,000 for two years License Points- 6 points IID- mandatory ignition interlock device Fine- From $200 to $1,000 Third Offense Jail time- 1 to 5 years Probation- 30 days to 1 year Community Service- 60 to 180 days License suspension- minimum of one year Driver Responsibility Fee- $1,000 for two years License Points- 6 points IID- mandatory ignition interlock device Fine- From $200 to $1,000 Vehicle Immobilization- from 90 days to 180 days What happens if I refuse a chemical test? According to Michigan DUI laws, you will receive the maximum sentence in most cases if you refuse a chemical test, but you may not lose your license for as long. Michigan DUI law allows an attorney to reach a plea bargain in some cases, but refusing a chemical test will hurt your chances. According to Ohio DUI laws, you will lose your license for one year for the first offense, and two years for the second and third offense.

    Related Articles

    Link To This Page

    Comments

    POPULAR IN DUI

    How To Beat A DUI
    DUI
    How To Beat A DUI
    Your Guide to Understanding Blood Alcohol Level
    DUI
    Your Guide to Understanding Blood Alcohol Level
    Guide to Finding a Lawyer
    Operation Confirm
    Are you sure you want to delete it?
      
    Tips