Laws Lawyers Find Laws Legal Forms State Laws Bills
Home » Find Laws » DUI Laws » Georgia DUI Laws

Georgia DUI Laws

Listen
Quick Guide to Georgia DUI Laws Georgia DUI Law Georgia DUI laws are quite relaxed compared to other states, but the penalties are still severe and defaming in some cases.A plea bargain to a “wet reckless” charge is actually prohibited by Georgia DUI laws, and multiple offenses can carry a felony charge and multiple years of jail time.This article will discuss specific Georgia DUI law, as well as an overview of penalties and fines within GA. Specific Georgia DUI Laws The majority of laws are listed under Section 40 of the Official Code of GA.Some important laws are referenced below: 1. O.C.G.A. 40-5-57.1: this code explains license revocation following a DUI for a person under the age of 21. 2. O.C.G.A. 40-5-67: this code explains the license revocation for a person 21 or older, as well as procedures for a temporary driving permit. 3. O.C.G.A 40-5-75: this code provides details about the suspension of licenses associated with the possession, distribution, manufacturing, cultivation, sale or transfer, or driving the under the influence of controlled substances or marijuana. 4. O.C.G.A 40-6-392: this code explains specific percentages of controlled substances that qualify an individual for a DUI. 5. O.C.G.A 40-6-391: this code explains penalties and fines associated with first and subsequent offenses, as well as penalties for child endangerment.Some of the Georgia DUI law under this section is explained in the next section. Georgia DUI Laws for Penalties The penalties listed by Georgia DUI law are general to the entirety of cases.If the accident involved serious injury to another party, the person convicted of a DUI will face severe penalties and fines according to Georgia DUI law. First Offense Jail time- 24 hours to 1 year Community Service- minimum of 40 hours License suspension- up to 1 year License Reinstatement- $210 Fine- $300 to $1,000 Second Offense Jail time- 3 days to 1 year Community Service- 30 days minimum License suspension- 3 years License Reinstatement- $210 IID- if court allows Fine- $600 to $1,000 Treatment Program- required Third Offense Jail time- 15 days to 1 year Community Service- 30 days minimum License suspension- 5 years License Reinstatement- $210 IID- if court allow Fine- $1,000 to $5,000 Treatment Program- required Newspaper- local newspaper coverage Fourth Offense Jail time- 1 year to 5 years, and a felony conviction Community Service- 60 days minimum Fine- $1,000 to $5,000 Treatment Program- required Georgia DUI Law for Refusing Chemical Test According to Georgia DUI laws, a person who refuses a chemical test will usually receive the maximum sentence, and jail time and license suspension will usually be mandated to the fullest extent.According to Georgia DUI laws, a person will have their license suspended for one year for a first offense, 3 years for a second offense, and 5 years for a third offenses. Also, a third offense in the state of Georgia requires a minimum 15 days in jail, and refusal to take a chemical test will usually result in a felony charge—even for the third offense.
Font Size: AAA
Loading...
  • Play
  • Pause
  • Volume:
  • Mute
  • Half
  • Max
  • Georgia Dui Laws

    Popular In DUI

    DUI Attorney   DUI Attorneys   DUI Lawyer   DUI Lawyers  

    Quick Guide to Georgia DUI Laws Georgia DUI Law Georgia DUI laws are quite relaxed compared to other states, but the penalties are still severe and defaming in some cases. A plea bargain to a “wet reckless” charge is actually prohibited by Georgia DUI laws, and multiple offenses can carry a felony charge and multiple years of jail time. This article will discuss specific Georgia DUI law, as well as an overview of penalties and fines within GA. Specific Georgia DUI Laws The majority of laws are listed under Section 40 of the Official Code of GA. Some important laws are referenced below: 1. O.C.G.A. 40-5-57.1: this code explains license revocation following a DUI for a person under the age of 21. 2. O.C.G.A. 40-5-67: this code explains the license revocation for a person 21 or older, as well as procedures for a temporary driving permit. 3. O.C.G.A 40-5-75: this code provides details about the suspension of licenses associated with the possession, distribution, manufacturing, cultivation, sale or transfer, or driving the under the influence of controlled substances or marijuana. 4. O.C.G.A 40-6-392: this code explains specific percentages of controlled substances that qualify an individual for a DUI. 5. O.C.G.A 40-6-391: this code explains penalties and fines associated with first and subsequent offenses, as well as penalties for child endangerment. Some of the Georgia DUI law under this section is explained in the next section. Georgia DUI Laws for Penalties The penalties listed by Georgia DUI law are general to the entirety of cases. If the accident involved serious injury to another party, the person convicted of a DUI will face severe penalties and fines according to Georgia DUI law. First Offense Jail time- 24 hours to 1 year Community Service- minimum of 40 hours License suspension- up to 1 year License Reinstatement- $210 Fine- $300 to $1,000 Second Offense Jail time- 3 days to 1 year Community Service- 30 days minimum License suspension- 3 years License Reinstatement- $210 IID- if court allows Fine- $600 to $1,000 Treatment Program- required Third Offense Jail time- 15 days to 1 year Community Service- 30 days minimum License suspension- 5 years License Reinstatement- $210 IID- if court allow Fine- $1,000 to $5,000 Treatment Program- required Newspaper- local newspaper coverage Fourth Offense Jail time- 1 year to 5 years, and a felony conviction Community Service- 60 days minimum Fine- $1,000 to $5,000 Treatment Program- required Georgia DUI Law for Refusing Chemical Test According to Georgia DUI laws, a person who refuses a chemical test will usually receive the maximum sentence, and jail time and license suspension will usually be mandated to the fullest extent. According to Georgia DUI laws, a person will have their license suspended for one year for a first offense, 3 years for a second offense, and 5 years for a third offenses. Also, a third offense in the state of Georgia requires a minimum 15 days in jail, and refusal to take a chemical test will usually result in a felony charge—even for the third offense.

    Related Articles

    Link To This Page

    Comments

    POPULAR IN DUI

    Zero Tolerance Laws Statistics
    DUI
    Zero Tolerance Laws Statistics
    All You Need To Know About DUI Checkpoints
    DUI
    All You Need To Know About DUI Checkpoints
    Guide to Finding a Lawyer
    Tips